Welcome!

Happy Summer Break, everyone!

We hope you are as excited as we are to have some time to read! We challenge you to read three of the Texas Star Books this summer and discuss them with us on this blog. We will post questions to help guide our thoughts, but school appropriate observations about the texts are always welcome, whether they are directly related to our questions or not!

Remember–if you read at least 12 of the books on the list, you will be invited to the Texas Star Celebration next May! You get most of a day off from school, lunch with S.J.Kincaid, author of  Insignia, an autographed book from the author and a medal!

If you read 20 books on the list, you get a hard back book signed directly to YOU from the author! How cool is that?

Here is the list:

  • Bardugo, Leigh. Shadow and Bone. Henry Holt, 2012. ISBN 978-0805094596**
  • Barnes, Jennifer Lynn. Every Other Day. Egmont USA, 2012. ISBN 978-1606841693
  • Bauer, Joan. Almost Home. Viking, 2012. ISBN 978-0670012893**
  • Blumenthal, Karen. Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different. Feiwel and Friends, 2012. ISBN 978-1250015570; Audio: Macmillan Audio, 2012. ISBN 978-1427228024**
  • Bragg, Georgia. How They Croaked: The Awful Ends of the Awfully Famous. Walker & Co., 2011. ISBN 978-0802798176**
  • Audio: Recorded Books, 2011. ISBN 978-1461849889
  • Carvell, Tim. Planet Tad. Harper Collins, 2012. ISBN 978-0061934360
  • Davies, Stephen. Outlaw: A Novel. Clarion Books, 2011. ISBN 978-0547390178**
  • Flinn, Alex. Bewitching. HarperTeen, 2012. ISBN 978-0062024145
  • Kincaid, S.J. Insignia. Katherine Tegen Books, 2012. ISBN 978-0062092991
  • Kindl, Patrice. Keeping the Castle: A Tale of Romance, Riches, and Real Estate. Viking, 2012. ISBN 978-0670014385
  • Levine, Kristin. The Lions of Little Rock. G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 2012. ISBN 978-0399256448**
  • Audio: Listening Library/Books on Tape, 2012. ISBN 978-0307968807
  • Lu, Marie. Legend. G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 2011. ISBN 978-0399256752
  • Audio: Penguin Audio, 2011. ISBN 978-1611760088**
  • McCall, Guadalupe Garcia. Under the Mesquite. Lee & Low Books, 2011. ISBN 978-1600604294
  • Meyer, Marissa. Cinder. Feiwel and Friends, 2012. ISBN 978-0312641894
  • Audio: Macmillan Audio, 2012. ISBN 978-1427215000
  • Morpurgo, Michael. An Elephant in the Garden. Feiwel and Friends, 2011. ISBN 978-0312593698
  • Nielsen, Jennifer A. The False Prince. Scholastic Press, 2012. ISBN 978-0545284134
  • Audio: Scholastic Audio, 2012. ISBN 978-0545391665
  • Palacio, R.J. Wonder. Alfred A. Knopf, 2012. ISBN 978-0375869020
  • Audio: Brilliance Audio, 2012. 978-1455844197
  • Petrucha, Stefan. Ripper. Philomel, 2012. ISBN 978-0-399255243
  • Sonnenblick, Jordan. Curveball: The Year I Lost My Grip. Scholastic Press, 2012. ISBN 978-0545320696
  • Audio: Brilliance Audio, 2012. ISBN 978-1611061468
  • Strohmeyer, Sarah. Smart Girls Get What They Want. Balzer + Bray, 2012. ISBN 978-0061953408

2013-2014 Librarian’s Picks

  • Bodeen, S.A. The Raft. Feiwal & Friends, 2012. ISBN: 978-0312650100.**
  • Gibbs, Stuart. Spy School. Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2012. ISBN: 978-1442421837 (hardcover); 978-1442421827 (pbk).
  • McKissack, Patricia C. and Fredrick L. McKissack, Jr., Randy DuBurke, Anthony Wu. Best Shot in the West: the Adventures of Nat Love. Chronicle Books, 2012. ISBN: 978-0811857499.
  • Poblocki, Dan. The Ghost of Graylock. Scholastic Press, 2012. ISBN: 978-0545402682 (hardcover).**
  • Sherry, Maureen. Walls within Walls. Katherine Tegan Books, 2010. ISBN: 978-0061767005.

The titles with two asterisks next to them are the books chosen by one of us to read this summer! You do not have to read the same ones we do to participate however. Investigate the books and choose the ones that fit your interests  Be sure to post your comments under the tab of the book title that you are reading.  That will help others who are reading the same book to converse with you. 

Happy Summer and let’s get reading! We want TONS of our NOMS Mustangs   to go to the celebration next year!

 
36 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

36 responses to “Welcome!

  1. Mrs. Averitte

    Hello Mustangs, this is Mrs. Averitte. I am so excited about next year’s Texas Star books. I will be starting my summer with the book Legend by Marie Lu. Just by reading the synopsis this dystopian novel seems to be a little like Uglies by Scott Westerfeld and Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Let me know what book you will be starting with.

    • Jesse Edmonson

      hey Mrs. Averitte it’s Jesse Edmonson. I just got done reading Planet Tad.It’s a fun exciting book kind of like the Dairy Of a Wimpy Kid, it goes through a whole year of a kid named Tad’s blog. I liked it because it’s a lot of what some kids go through.Hope you enjoy!!!!!!

      • Mrs.Canaan

        Jesse that’s great you already started your summer reading. That book Planet Tad sounds funny, but heartwarming.I

      • Mrs. Sanchez

        Thanks for the tip Jesse! My children at home love Diary of a Wimpy Kid! I will let them know that Planet Tad is a good one as well! What will be your next book to read this summer?

        Mrs. Sanchez

      • Melissa Averitte

        Hey Jesse,
        I’m so glad you enjoyed the book. I will put that one on the top of my list. I just finished Legend and Every Other Day. Both books are full of action and move quickly. I liked Legend a little more, so try that one. Keep reading and have a fun summer.

  2. Rachel Sanchez

    Hi friends! This is Mrs. Sanchez. I am looking forward to reading The Raft by S.A. Bodeen. I am always up for a good adventure and I hear this book has a twist in the end that makes the reader question the entire novel! Who is in on reading this one with me??? :))))

  3. Andrea Brightwell

    Hello NOMS readers! This is Mrs. Brightwell. One of the books I am going to read this summer is Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought DIfferent. Please join me in reading this book and finding out more about this amazing man and what he did in his quest for excellence. Let me know if you are reading along with me 🙂

  4. This is a student…
    Michelle Nguyen’s the name and i guess i have to be the first so other students wouldn’t be scared to post also.
    I already read:
    +Spy School
    +Smart Girls Get What They Want
    + The False Prince
    +Cinder
    +Legend
    +Keeping the Castle: A Tale of Romance, Riches, and Real Estate
    + Insignia
    +Bewitching
    +Planet Tad
    +How They Croaked: The Awful Ends of the Awfully Famous
    +Almost Home

    I’m planning to read Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes.
    It’s a book about a human and many mythological creatures such as the zombies and hellhounds. I hope you can also read this intresting book with me. 🙂

    • Hi Michelle,
      I am so impressed at the number of books you have read! Great job!
      We are going to post the link for the Lone Star forms that Mrs. Webb will need next fall in order to give you credit for the books. Be watching for it. By the way, which one has been your favorite so far?

      • Truthfully, i really cant choose because its like saying who’s your favorite parent, what’s your favorite song, or which friend you prefer. But if i had to go in blindly choose i would pick Insignia or Legend. Don’t know why but the tittle and the plot line of these books really grab at you to read further and text tempt you lose your sleep and become forgetful sometimes.

    • Mrs.Canaan

      WOW! You are impressive. I can’t wait to start The Ghost of Graylock. Which were your top three reads thus far? Happy reading:)

      • I would choose:
        +Legend (i love it when two utterly different people meet and their adventure starts from there and beyond).
        +Insignia (sci-fi i really don’t know why but it’s just so interesting to view different utopias and wonder if our would be like that, but then again the future will unfold itself)
        +Bewitching (i love fairy tales with a modern twist or random mash up where you didn’t see that coming, it’s like “Whoa did you see that?” totally unexpected)

    • Mrs. Sanchez

      You are quite the reader Michelle!! That is awesome! I was thinking of reading The False Prince. Would you recommend it? What are your top three books from the list that you read so far?

      • The False Prince was interesting I didn’t expect that coming *that whistle thing when something big happens*. And I would recommend The False Prince because it’s just so interesting.

    • MICHELLE, GREAT JOB ON READING SO MANY BOOKS. You are our star reader!

  5. Carolyn Hedgecock

    I just started reading

  6. Carolyn Hedgecock

    Warning: How They Croaked isn’t for kids who don’t have the guts to read gore. I just read about King Tut. Did you know he died when he was only nineteen? Do you know how old he was when he married? Ten. Isn’t that crazy? Can you believe that?
    Why was he buried with 130 walking sticks, two slings, lots of sandals and how and why did they remove his brain? Did you know that every mummy has at least thirty pounds of cloth around it and that mummy cloth was used to make brown butcher paper in the mid-1800’s -until an outbreak of cholera at the paper mill caused mummy paper to be discontinued?
    Hey, this book is GREAT! Guaranteed you’ll like it, plus it has lots of cool illustrations.

    • Hey Mrs.Hedgecock, I was wondering what book I should read first. I’m getting the book tomorrow ,so I need to know. How They Croaked sounds good ,but just in case Half Price Books doesn’t have it, what other one should i read? Any requests? -Taylor Koehn

      • Hey Taylor, are you enjoying your summer yet? I checked out Cinder, Shadow and Bone and also How They Croaked. How They Croaked is a quick and easy read. I’m also finished with it. I think I’ll read Shadow and Bone next. I also got Host too because I wanted to read it before I saw the movie which should be coming out in DVD soon. Let me know what you decided to read.

  7. Mrs. Winnard

    Hello NOMS! This is Mrs. Winnard. I am so excited to beging a new adventure reading The Ghost of Graylock. I love suspense! From reading the synopsis I am already loving the setting. I will keep you updated.

  8. Mrs. Canaan

    Looking forward to going on my Summer vacation to the haunted Insane Asylum. I can’t wait to dive into Dan Poblocki ‘s journey of supense and mystery. The Ghost of Graylock is my Summer read!

  9. Mrs. Sanchez

    I just finished The Raft and it was filled with suspense and twists! The ending wasn’t what I anticipated but I still recommend reading this one. What would you do if you were stranded on an island????

  10. I am on Chapter 15 of The False Prince and I’m really enjoying it so far. It’s so much fun imagining what the kingdoms, castles, and characters might look like. There have aleady been a few twists that make it hard to put the book down. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone, but I can’t wait to see if Sage really knows more than the other characters think.

  11. Just started Shadow and Bone it is really good can’t wait to read more

    • Mrs. Sanchez

      @Kodiegirl…Oh Shadow and Bone is my next read!! How are you enjoying it so far? Have you finished reading it yet? What do you like about it thus far?

  12. I just started “The Lions of Little Rock”. Have you ever compared a person to something you drink? In chapter two, Marlee describes her family in this way. I quoted a little on the book’s page. I wonder if my children would describe me as a glass of milk or a cup of strong tea.

  13. Okay, I’m going a totally different route now and starting How They Croaked : The Awful Ends of The Awfully Famous. Mrs. Winnard might like this one since there are no happy endings … I don’t think. I am excited to read this one because I love history, science, and art. I just hope no one croaked too painfully … I shall see.

  14. I just started Ripper I am so exited it has so many great twists in it!

  15. I read Cinder in two or three nights and loved it. It has a weird twist on Cinderella. I feel proud of myself because I guessed most of the the ending. It was a quick read that I think anyone would enjoy.

  16. Nathan Vela

    I read Shadow and Bone, How They Croaked, Insignia, The Lions of Little Rock, Legend, and Spy School. Insignia was my favorite because it was kind of sci fi and futuristic. I would recommend them all.

  17. Mrs. Webb

    Hey Mustangs! This is Mrs. Webb. I am so impressed with the books each of you read over the summer. All I can say is…WOW! I read a lot as well. Wonder by R.J. Palacio is one of my favorites. It is about a boy who was born with a facial deformity and his struggle to fit in with his peers and lead a normal life. It made me laugh and cry! I loved it and I know you will, too.

Leave a Reply

